Tuesday, October 30, 2012

Sugar Creek Gang

Hello there,

I want to share with you about something my family has absolutely fallen in love with. Let’s start at the beginning.

Can you talk about an item arriving just in time?  We were on our way out of town to make an 8 hour drive to Yellowstone.  We were getting fuel and I asked my husband to stop back by home to check the mail.  We did and in the mail was a package from Beloved Books.  It was Volume 1 of Sugar Creek Gang which includes 6 stories.

  • The Swamp Robber
  • The Killer Bear
  • The Winter Rescue
  • The Lost Campers
  • Chicago Adventure
  • The Secret Hideout

Each character building story is approximately 2 hours long.  That would leave each volume with 12 hours of character building stories.

The Sugar Creek Gang was written by Paul Hutchins beginning in 1939.  

We hit the road and about an hour into our drive we decided to begin listening to the stories of the Sugar Creek Gang. 

We met a gang (or group of kids) that share a loyal friendship. 

Bill Collins, Poetry, Tom Till, Big Jim, Little Jim, Circus, and Dragonfly are the main characters of the Sugar Creek Gang series.  You will get to know these boys and begin to feel like you are a part of the “gang”.  These boys “choose the right” throughout the stories which leaves me feeling comfortable with my children wanting to be a part of “The Sugar Creek Gang.”

  This was so much different than an audio book to us, these stories felt like they were actually being told to us not read to us.  The narrator does a great job of portraying each character through altering his voice to each boy. 

The stories are have funny parts and serious parts.  Each story includes at least one morally good lesson to be taken from it.  We all found ourselves learning something during each story; things like a bear’s behavior, to a new poem, and much much more. 

My entire family loves The Sugar Creek Gang, so much in fact, that we listed to the entire Volume 1 on our trip!  The next time we took the 4 hour drive to grandma’s house, they asked for it again.  NO JOKE!   

Each volume of The Sugar Creek Gang is $54.95 individually.

You can purchase all 6 volumes, 72 stories, over 100 hours of listening for $279.70.  Less than $3 an hour of character building stories.

You can try out the first story for FREE!  I highly recommend doing this. 

Just in time for Christmas, Beloved Books is offering my readers a great 20% discount on your order.

Use code FAMILY-STYLE-20 to save 20% off your order.

To see what others think of this check out this post. To see a wide variety of reviews check out our crew blog.


Disclosure: As a member of The Old Schoolhouse Homeschool Crew I review products, like this, which I receive for free in order to be able to share my honest opinion.  No other compensation is provided. 


No comments:


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...